Top Rated Reviews - 2018

Carlitos01 3 years ago 14
9.5
Scent
9
Longevity
9
Sillage
9
Bottle

A true Arabian fragrance to please western women and men
This is an amazing unisex fragrance from the opening till the fainting skin scent.
It opens with magnificent Saffron and Oud notes. Oud will be present in all the development stages.
The hearth notes surprise you with a note of Rose (Taif rose?) both a delicate and dense. It's not the powerful Rose used by Montale. Its a subtle Rose that embraces you to keep the Oud leash well tight. Its a very alluring stage with the fainting Saffron still present as well.
With the bottom notes, the global scent sweetens a lot with praline and vanilla. You travel through the dry down with the rosy sweet Oud for quite a long time, more than 10 hours for sure.
The bottle is nice, entirely lacquered in gold. It shines in the middle of your collection. Middle eastern designers do surprise us either with some tacky bottles like many Armaf flasks, or with this type of design jewels.
Besides the very good performance, this is quite a versatile Oud fragrance, as you may use it almost everywhere and every time except in hot days. I am truly rendered to this perfume. The oud note is a bit medicinal and, due to that, the perfume may be considered a bit synthetic, which is not the case in my opinion.

Let's see the math for Shagaf Oud:
___ ___ ___ ___ ___ ___ ___ ___
- Scent opening: 9.0 (very good saffron and rose-oud).
- Scent dry down: 9.0 (very pleasant sweet oud but a bit faint).
- Longevity: 9.0 (10 hours+ with 3 sprays).
- Sillage: 9.0 (more than 6 feet with 3 sprays and projects for 3 hours; dectetable skin scent till the 12th hour).
- Uniqueness: 9.0 (almost unique; I only found some similarities with the less sweet Shagaf Oud Abyad and Lancome Oud Bouquet).
- Wearability: 9.0 (extremely high for an Oud based fragrance).
- Versatility: 9.0 (extremely high for an Oud based fragrance).
- Compliments: 8.5 (surprisingly high for an Oud based fragrance)
- Quality: 9.0 (absence of synthetic notes; the oud is not fecal, although is a bit medicinal/metalic).
- Presentation: 9.0 (not discrete but beautiful for both bottle and card box).
- Price: 10.0 (100 ml for 20 Euros in Notino - a bargain).
___ ___ ___ ___ ___ ___ ___ ___
Average: 9.07 / 10.00.
- between 7 and 8 = above average;
- between 8 and 9 = recomended;
- bigger than 9 = don't miss it;

Is it in my top oud fragrances? a big YES.
Will I buy it again? Yes for sure.
Is there a similar Oud fragrance I like as much as Shagaf Oud ? Yes, I may give some examples:
- Montale's Dark Oud even if they are not similar; Shagaf Oud is more subtle and tender; Dark Oud is stronger and sharper.
- Lataffa Oud Boulevard is as alluring as Shagaf Oud (but not similar) and has a similar price. It is a true masterpiece and superior to Shaghaf Oud.
- Lancome Oud Bouquet is quite similar to Shagaf Oud but cost 3x~4x the price.
Will I recommend Shagaf Oud? a big YES, if you like oriental fragrances.

Music: Lawrence of Arabia movie theme.
1 Reply

Carlitos01 2 years ago 14
9.5
Scent
8
Longevity
7
Sillage
8
Bottle

Pour Un Homme, and sometimes, Pour Une Femme
Everybody has a signature scent. It means that you never get tired of it or bored with it. If you decide to change your signature scent, it doesn't mean that you ceased to love the former signature perfume. Unlike in divorces, where you end up developping an alergy to your former spouse, you just started to fancy more a new scent. But previous signature fragrances have their own special "gallery" in your closet and you will surely keep on wearing them from time to time, just like you do with your former college sweet hearts.
There is another special wardrobe gallery that houses perfumes with another classification type: they are the "wannabe" signature scents. "Wannabes" are the fragrances on the edge of becoming a signature scent, but for some ignored reason they are still waiting to achieve that honor. Probably a "wannabe" is often used. You may even apply it more times than you do with your signature scent.
"Pour un Homme" is one of my very much loved "wannabes".

This Caron's jewal it's more than adequate on the performance side, with more than 8 hours of longevity, quite more than an arm length of sillage, and projects almost for three hours.
It's perfect for Spring and Fall, meaning that it handles well Summer nights and probably Winter days. It is also a "use it everywhere" fragrance as well. It's not the best for clubbing but is very good for formal events, a night out, office, at leisure, intimacy, dinner with friends, daily casual,... you name it. It's even very nice to use in the gym.
Today in the office I have been remembered of how good this fragrance is, due to the numerous compliments I received.
Women like to smell it in a men, and many times they like to wear it themselves.
I also like it for a more selfish reason. I use it often just for my self, and every five minutes or so I sniff it in the back of my hand. Pure pleasure!
Usually I am neither a fan of a too strong lavender or vanilla note, neither of any type of rosemary... the three notes I pick the most in "Pour un Homme". And I just love them the way they are blended by Caron.
I recommend this ecletic perfume all the time, probably even more often than I suggest my less versatile signature scent.
How do I rate this "wannabe" of mine?
______________________________________________________________________________
- Scent opening............9.0 (best lavender I have ever smelled)
- Scent Dry Down.........9.5 (fantastic vanilla symphony in a musk background)
- Longevity....................8.0 (more than 8 hours on my skin, with 2 sprays)
- Sillage..........................7.5 (sillage peeking up to 5 feet, projecting for 2.5 hours)
- Versatility....................9.0 (quite versatile, expressing itself better in Spring and Fall, at ease in Winter days and in Summer nights)
- Usability......................9.5 (Just avoid not using it. Use it almost for every occasion)
- Compliments..............9.0 (This scent is a compliment magnet. People will give give you nice, elegant, discrete compliments. Nevertheless some teenagers will think it's adequated for "old men" more than 30 years old.)
- Uniqueness.................9.0 (It's quite unique; I can think only of its flankers and Killian's "A Taste of Heaven")
- Quality.........................10.0 (it exudes quality)
- Presentation...............7.5 (Nice, elegant flask and cap)
- Price.............................9.0 (€ 28 for a 125 ml tester flask)
______________________________________________________________________________
- Average:......................8.82/10.00
between 7 and 8 => above average;
between 8 and 9 => recommended;
equal or bigger than 9 => don't miss it;

Opinion on "Pour Un Homme":
This is a very good fragrance that you can use and abuse. The lavender/rosemary accord in the opening and the moderately sweet vanilla dry down are just great.
Recommended? Yes! Your wife will thank you, and everybody except your kids will compliment you.
Blind buy worthy? Yes with no risk at all!

Music: Dalida - "Pour un homme"
5 Replies

Carlitos01 3 years ago 13
9.5
Scent
10
Longevity
9
Sillage
8
Bottle

Swiss Arabian Interlude Man or an almost unknown great oriental perfume
Middle East fragrance manufacturers sometimes indulge us with some fantastic fragrances.
Unfortunately in my case those oriental perfumes are never of the try and buy kind. My purchases always fall in one of two cases. Either I blind buy them or I get some help by reviews which is just an assisted way of a blind buy. I live in Portugal and I don't know any local retailer who carries perfums from the Middle East for me to test them before buying.
Well... to tell you the truth most of the times, after a careful analysis of the notes, the purchase is not regrettable. A few of them are quite successful purchases and such is the case of Shaghaf Oud Abyad. What a magnific blind buy. My saga begun with the purchase of the also magnific Swiss Arabian Shaghaf Oud (gorgeous golden flask) and atained the climax with this precious enamel white bottle of Oud Abyad. I expected it to be very good but I never imagined in advance that this fragrance would be so amazing.
As a matter of fact this two perfumes of Swiss Arabian make me look at this house as a top niche fragrance manufacturer, a regal maker of true heavenly alchemist potions.
After a couple of sprays, you start this voyage with a citrusy oregano scent served as a starter to fresh up your senses. Resins, smoky wood, sweet amber and intrusive incense create the mood for you to appreciate properly the triumphal bottom notes. In this olfactory banquet the smooth leather and the both wild and tamed oud give the final touch to this magnifically blended masterpiece.
Then it's time for the long pleasant balsamic smoky woody and leathery drydown. This long and pleasing phase may agraciate you with one of the best smoky woody scents I have ever experienced. And it seems to last forever.

EDIT: 14 hours went by and I still have an agreable and not faint skin scent in the back of my hand (where I tested it on skin).

My rates for Swiss Arabian Shaghaf Oud Abyad:
___ ___ ___ ___ ___ ___ ___ ___ ___
Scent Opening: 9.0 (my judgement)
Scent Dry Down: 10.0 (my judgement)
Longevity: 10.0 (very very long; 2 sprays may last for 12-14 hours)
Sillage: 9.0 (8~10 feet at its peak with just 2 sprays)
Uniqueness: 8.0 (quite unique but its enormeous similarity with Amouage Interlude Man make me take 2 points out; nevertheless if you are looking for a clone of Interlude Man, Shaghaf Oud Abyhad is almost a xerox copy of it, with better performance and 1/5~1/6 of its price.)
Wearability: 7.0 (cold weather)
Versatility: 7.0 (yes to enjoy on your own, clubbing, socializing, events, restaurants, dates, romancing, sex, office, picnics, weaddings, movies,... not good to office, small spaces, work out, places where you may sweat and beach)
Quality: 9.5 (my judgement)
Presentation: 8.0 (not as nice as Shaghaf Oud but simple and effective; very good sprayer)
Price: 9.5 (75 ml non tester for 22 Euros + shipping)
___ ___ ___ ___ ___ ___ ___ ___ ___
Overall rating: 8.70/10.00
- between 7 and 8 =above average;
- between 8 and 9 = recomended;
- bigger than 9 = don't miss it;

Advice: If you are a first timer with oriental oud fragrances, do try before you buy.
I strongly recommend this fragrance to oriental oud fragrances lovers; it's a dark, resinous, balsamic, oudy, woody, leathery fragrance with lots of smokiness and that may please many oriental fragrances lovers, both women and men and particulary in the over pleasant drydown.

Music: Dire Straits - "Sultans Of Swing"
1 Reply

Carlitos01 3 years ago 13
10
Scent
7
Longevity
7
Sillage
7
Bottle

The Unbearable Lightness Of Being
In the face of the complexity of life it becomes inevitable not to want to adopt sometimes a greater sense of lightness. The perceptions of our senses are sometimes indispensable for these attitudes. Several times I acquired a state of mind induced by a perfume. Habit Rouge L'Eau is for me the door of several feelings that I connect to Milan Kundera's "The Unbearable Lightness Of Being". And if one is impossible to stop reading, the other is impossible to stop smelling!
The Habit Rouge fragrances from Guerlain, at the very least, are all very good!
Some Habit Rouge are quite exceptional!
This one is just fantastic!

I bought this fragrance after buying the regular EDT and EDP versions. I expected it to be a lighter flanker of the EDT edition, but it's not really the case. As a scent, it's as fantastic as the EDT or the EDP, and in line with the unmistakable Habit Rouge ADN.
After spraying you get a bitter orange fresh blast with a perceived added hazelnut and a floral sweetness. This initial impression is tamed by salty & sweet vanilla, with a creamy & smoth vibe, and a very classy patchouly background... amazing! The drydown is a all about a residual citrusy bitterness with the velvety vanilla and patchouli string combo. Undeniably it is a great fragrance, indeed.
Performance is very good bearing in mind this fragrance notes (no woods, no resins, no balms) and its EdT concentration; It's better than many EDPs I own.
The versatility is monstruous as you can wear it everywhere, all situations, all seasons, day and night.
I splashed myself with 5 sprays of this fragrance this morning, and received some compliments during the day!
Yes... you get compliments with Habit Rouge L'Eau, although this was suposed to be a "safe" fragrance for common daily use.

Let us see what the maths tell us:
___ ___ ___ ___ ___ ___ ___ ___
Scent opening: 10.0 (a bitter orange to die for)
Drydown: 9.5 (Guerlain's unmistakable Patchouli and Vanilla blending)
Longevity: 7.5 (well above average for the existing notes but not beasty; up to 7~8 hours with 3 sprays)
Sillage: 7.5 (same as longevity; up to 5 feet and 2.5 hours of projection)
Uniqueness: 10.0 (unique, considering the existing fragrances that I am aware of, with the exception of some Guerlain perfumes like other Habit Rouge and a few Shalimar perfumes)
Wearability: 10.0 (4 seasons, day or night)
Versatility: 9.0 (yes to clubbing, socializing, events, restaurants... and yes to dates, romancing, sex, office, beach, picnics, weaddings, movies, birthday gift to your father in law... no to work out !)
Quality: 10.0 (my judgement)
Presentation: 7.5 (a bit simple but effective; very good sprayer)
Price: 10.0 (100 ml tester for 19 Euros + VAT - a bargain in FragranceX)
___ ___ ___ ___ ___ ___ ___ ___
Overall rating for this fragrance: 9.08/10.0
- between 7 and 8 = above average;
- between 8 and 9 = recommended;
- greater than 9 = do not miss;

Recommendation: Any of the Habit Rouge colognes is a fantastic scent and masculine fragrance landmark. I do recommend it even as a blind buy.
My other Habit Rouge related ratings:
Overall rating for the EDT: 9.06/10.0
Overall rating for the EDP: 9.17/10.0

Music: Queen - "It's a Kind of Magic"
1 Reply

Carlitos01 3 years ago 13
8
Scent
6
Longevity
6
Sillage
7
Bottle

The friendly, trustworthy and versatile companion.
I only review scents I like. Consequently my opinions are generally positive or enthusiastic.
With Versace Pour Homme I have a relationship that many men appreciate. It's not a relationship of passion but one made of brotherly love and trust. It has been a friend for quite some time and in whom I can safely rely. We rarely meet, but when that happens I feel the joy of being with someone who never lets me down and that it's there always for me. It is a comfy friend and I value its friendship and loyalty.
Alberto Morillas is to be congratulated for this fine work. He designed a fragrance with a scent opening similar to Chanel Allure Home as well as versatile and alluring.
"Pour Homme" is a versatility king. It's not an overly complex perfume so the reason for its success must reside elsewhere. It proposes a citrus opening, a woody middle stage and a semi sweet creamy musky end.
The ingredients must have top quality and the blending is totally harmonious.
The sillage and projection are slightly under average, and the longevity is average for the listed notes. Actually the performance is in line with what you may expect from this type of scent. Mr. Morillas is never obcessed with high perfomance for his creations.
This fragrance is fresh enough for summer wearing and woody/sweet/musky enough to ensure success in tempered or even in mild cold spring and fall days.
I just regret this friend of mine not to have a younger brother called "Pour Homme Intense EDP".

How do I measure my relation with this fresh friend?
___ ___ ___ ___ ___ ___ ___ ___
Opening: 8.25 (nicely fresh citrus and neroli)
Scent Dry Down: 8.00 (still fresh but woodier)
Longevity: 6.5 (3 good sprays may last 4~5 hours)
Sillage: 6.5 (3~4feet at its peak with just 3 sprays)
Uniqueness: 7.5 (It follows the steps of Polge's Allure Homme Sport and has a myriad of look alikes, but it's almost unique in it's quality and blending versus price)
Wearability: 9.0 (avoid winter nights and extreamly cold days)
Versatility: 9.5 ("all around" versatile fragrance although some specific fragrances may be better for specific environments like intimacy, dates, night out, clubbing, events, leisure, casual gatherings, office, gymn, beach, outdoor activities in hot days, but not in cold days or nights; however "Pour Homme" addresses all the situations)
Compliments: 8.5 (This fragrance it's not a dominant compliment magnet just due to is medium performance, but will please everybody except the fragrance trolls that rated its scent with a zero)
Quality: 9.0 (Well above average quality, quality ingredients, nice flask, nice sprayer)
Presentation: 7.50 (no faults, but quite common)
Price: 8.0 (100 ml non tester for € 32 + shipping; It costs 1/3 of the price of its "alter ego" from Chanel)
___ ___ ___ ___ ___ ___ ___ ___
Overall rating: 8.10/10.00
- between 7 and 8 =above average;
- between 8 and 9 = recomended;
- bigger than 9 = don't miss it;

Advice: If you are looking for a very versatile fresh fragrance. In this range of price, there are not many as versatile as this one with a good brand name. On top of it, it does attract compliments. The downside is its average or under average performance.

Music: "The Sound Of Silence" original by Simon & Garfunkel - version by Disturbed.

Carlitos01 3 years ago 13
10
Scent
9
Longevity
8
Sillage
8
Bottle

Not for boys dating cotton candy scented girls!
This is a gorgeous, complex, refined, fantastic, and almost a beasty fragrance.
Great for everything except for Summer activities or gym.
I love it, my wife loves it (and yes... other ladies love it as well). For me it's an absolute old school masterpiece.
This fragrance never smells of an old man perfume to me. Instead I keep visualizing a 25 year old young man in the 80's, with his black leather jacket and collar turned upwards, blue jeans, a white linen shirt, dark suede shoes, and this alluring Boss perfume. Sometimes I still dress this way :-)

Upon the initial sprays, it comes on quite bold and classy. The notes are citrusy and fruity in the opening.
Half a minute latter you perceive an avalanche of notes including (a lot of) sweet honey, lavender, rose, and other well composed notes that just lead you to love this fragrance. You feel like you are in the presence of a orchestra with the conductor mixing tons of loveable different notes and blending them together to form a symphony.
Its longevity is easily up to 14 hours. Due to its sweetness and smoothness you may over spray just a bit - 4 to 5 sprays maximum for maximum performance.
You get an alluring dry down with a very sweet moist tobacco accord, dry oak moss, dark sandalwood, heavy patchouli and a strong musk - the inevitable 5 notes of the 80's.
In terms of longevity it's almost a beast. The good news is that even if you over spray, you do not project an intrusive scent to other people, but you also don't gain any longevity; you just get a bit more sillage.
This EDT smells expensive and in line with what you expect from the fragrance that put Hugo Boss on the perfume's map.
It is indeed a very nice juice and one of a kind. It does not pretend to clone anything and I like it that way with its proper individuality.

My rates for Boss Number One:
___ ___ ___ ___ ___ ___ ___ ___ ___
Scent opening:.........9.5 (very aromatic and pleasant)
Scent dry down:......10.0 (fantastic tobacco and honey accords)
Longevity:.................9,0 (near beastmode longevity up to 10~12 hours with 3 sprays)
Sillage:.......................8.5 (in the range of 8~9 feet with 3 sprays; 3 hours projection)
Uniqueness:..............9.0 (I just remember Givenchy Gentleman 1974 version as having a 50% similar scent and a faint similar vibe with Aramis)
Wearability:..............9.0 (just avoid hot summer days)
Versatility:.................8.5 (Good for a wide range of situations. Avoid gym and typical summer day activities)
Compliments:...........9.0 (its not the rulling champion but it ranks among the top group)
Quality:......................9.5 (very very good and the best Boss for me)
Presentation:............9.0 (Simple but very effective and classy)
Price:.........................10.0 (25 Euros for 125 ml... a real bargain)
___ ___ ___ ___ ___ ___ ___ ___ ___
Overall rating: 9.18/10,00
between 7 and 8 =above average;
between 8 and 9 = recommended;
bigger than 9 = don't miss it;

Will I buy it again? YES, as long as I live and don't run out of money! I had this major fragrance love for quite a number of years, just allowing some flirt with Aramis Tuscany, Azzaro pour Homme, Givenchy Gentleman and YSL Opium as runner ups. I do have now a large number of fragrances that I use more often than Boss Number One. But every now and then it really feels good to encounter this faithful friend... like it has been the case today. In a happy day like today, my old friend Boss Number One always meets his sweetheart Sysley Eau du Soir used by my wife. It's a divine couple.

Boss number one is one of the masterpieces of Pierre Wargnye, probably the first one, or maybe the second after Drakkar Noir by Guy Laroche. More recently he developed La Nuit de l`Homme for Yves Saint Laurent.... need I say more?
But for me his jewel of the crown is still Boss Number One. It's pleasing people for more than 30 years now.
I already had seven or eight 125ml bottles. I have always a backup unit flask as it is not easy to find it nowadays. I have been helped by online shopping both in availability and pricing.
Unisex? Nope! It's man only!
As for the perfume itself..... God save the King, and yes, I do recommend it!

Music: Queen playing "God save the Queen"

Carlitos01 3 years ago 13
9.5
Scent
9
Longevity
8
Sillage
8
Bottle

Sweet Tobacco King
This fragrance makes you feel good !!!
Tobacco (the moist honeyed tobacco kind), Honey, Vanilla and Cocoa have been blended to perfection in the opening and heart notes. The perfume leaves a trail for a long dry down tamed by Amber and Resins.
Just don't use it under hot weather, in the seaside or gym. All other situations are allowed.
You may either love this fragrance or there is something wrong with your nose and you need a nose doctor.
Very good to read a book by the fireplace? - YES (or other activities in front of the fireplace)
Very good for any kind of date? - YES
Very good for intimacy? - YES
Very good for the office? - YES
Very good for a fancy dinner or a night out? - YES
Will you receive a lot of compliments? - YES
Very good for clubbing? - YES
Everyone else will be wearing it? - NO
It is enough manly, enough gourmand, enough spicy... enough said!

My rates for TM A*MEN PURE HAVANE:
_______________________________________________________________________________________________
Scent opening:........10.0 (in the top 10 of all men sweet fragrances for me)
Scent drydown):.......9.0
Longevity: ................9.0 (It's not a beast but it's close to)
Sillage:.......................8.5 (above average)
Uniqueness:.............9.0 (Other A*Men, Naxos and Reyane Insurrecton II Wild don't justify taking more than 1.0)
Wearability:..............8.0 (avoid hot weather)
Versatility:.................9.0 (don't use it at the beach or gym. Don't use it as well near your ex wife. It might bring her back!)
Compliments:...........9.0 (Both men and women have a very positive and enthusiastic reaction to this scent)
Quality:......................9.0 (shame for the not efficient sprayer)
Presentation:............8.0 (that's the A*Men flanker bottle with the worst presentation due to a very "plastic" brown cover)
Price:..........................8.5 (€45~€50 - above average cost of a good designer cologne, although being quite unique; nevertheless it is one of the cheapest A*Men flankers)
_______________________________________________________________________________________________
Overall rating: 8,8210.0
between 7 and 8 => above average;
between 8 and 9 => recommended;
equal or bigger than 9 => don't miss it;

Opinion on "Pure Havane":
It's one of the current fragrance landmarks. It's the kind of "everybody likes it" fragrance (and many love it). It is also adictive. If you buy it once, you will use it till the end of your days.
Recomended? Yes! - Blind buy worthy? No! - Do try it before.

Music: Barry Manilow - "Copacabana (the hottest spot north of Havana)"
1 Reply

Carlitos01 3 years ago 12
9.5
Scent
8
Longevity
7
Sillage
8
Bottle

An old faithful partner
Main features of Guerlain's Habit Rouge:
- Different from any other fragrance
- Superb notes composition
- Delicious scent
- Amazing versatility (any place, any season, day or night)
- Presents an above average projection, sillage and longevity for this type of notes compositon.
It opens with a strong lemon note that I specificaly identify as persian lime (citrus limettioides), Probably due to other minor notes like tangerine, green lime, orange and basil, it smells like strong plesant lemon tea. It's a powerfull good quality lemon for sure. This stage is quite long which is a bit unusual. Again we may conclude that this is a high quality fragrance.
- With the hearth notes, the scent became powdery with rose-carnation-cinnamon-sandal flavours but without loosing the heavy lemon tea initial accord. The transition is subtle and extreamly well blended.
- The bottom notes reveal a smoth yet persistant leather-vanilla scent. The transition flows like a wide river. You get the new notes at avery slow pace while the primary notes are gently left behind, What a fantastic harmony! The dry down is sweet and extreamly pleasant as well. The sweet powdry leather-vanilla gives you a long moment of peace and joy.
Comments: I applied 3 sprays (Habit Rouge EDT) in the back of my hand that vanished after 10~12 hours. The fragrance has a very unique evolution during the various stages and is undoubtedly very enjoyable. It projects heavily for a couple of hours and you get a sillage of up to 5 feet. I judge the overall performance to be well above average mainly because the bold fresh scents do stay available for a long time. To scent this fragrance is a unique and happy experience.
Due to its well tamed sweetness, I imagine that this fragrance may be considered as unisex as well. I can picture this magificent powdry sweet Vanilla-Leather dry down on a woman's skin.

If you never tried it, you don't know what you are missing. My Habit Rouge family (EDP, EDT, EDC, + other flankers) is in my top 10 of all times.
Here are my rates for Habit Rouge EDT from Guerlain:
___________________________________________________________________________________________________
Scent opening:............9.5 (strong persian lime/lemon with bitter orange)
Scent Drydown...........9.5 (unique and alluring leather/vanilla blending)
Longevity:....................8.5 (above average)
Sillage:.........................7.0 (average)
Versatility:...................9.5 (almost an all weather scent)
Usability:.....................9.0 (close to any place, anywhere)
Uniqueness:..............10.0 (at least for me)
Compliments..............8.5 (Very good but not in the major league)
Quality:......................10.0 (outstanding)
Presentation:..............8.5 (very conservative, but extremely elegant and classy)
Price:........................... 8.5 (100ml tester for €25 at FragranceX + taxes in 2017)
___________________________________________________________________________________________________
Average:.................8.95 / 10,00
between 7 and 8 =above average;
between 8 and 9 = recommended;
bigger than 9 = don't miss it;
Opinion: One of the best existing "all around" scents and that I like it very much. The citrus are great and long living. The leather vanilla accord is unique.
Recommended? Yes, please.
Blind buy worthy? Yes!

Music: Simon & Garfunkel - "America"
1 Reply

Carlitos01 3 years ago 12
9
Scent
9
Longevity
8
Sillage
8
Bottle

Valentino V has an heir
("daarej" means "slang" or "vulgar")

I refuse to pay €200~€250 for one of the remaining Valentino V for Men bottles still on sale in Amazon or E-Bay. Last year I blind bought Rasasi's Daarej. I trusted Rasasi's to make decent perfumes, and, based on some reviews and the notes list, I blind bought Daarej for men. I was hoping it to be a nice above average sweet fragrance and maybe - just maybe - have a vibe that would make me remember Valentino V.
It's really similar to V and with an excellent projection and longevity. I am not at ease to comment about 99% similarity, but I can say at least that it satisfied my nose totally.
I even think that Rasasi Daarej is a bit smoother, and I like it that way. The 100 ml flask costed me 20 Euros with a local net fragrance reseler. I already used half of the flask juice, and I am going to buy a backup bottle in my next order.
Daarej is surely the best western taste fragrance of Rasasi along with Fattan por Homme (my humble nose opinion).

The journey starts with a strong but distinguished cumin and a cardamom blast, plus a touch or artemisia. After this promising fresh spicy start the dominant cumin/cardamom accord slowly unveils some rose and Iris with a bit of smoke similar to the one found in other arabic perfumes (my guess is a non listed orris root note).
A couple of minutes later you start to notice some fougére and woods, and a second dominant accord that leans towards the sweet, An astonishing musky combo of vanilla, tonka and enveloping amber marks the signature of this fragrance. The seductive animalic musky notes blend very well with the earthy and smoky patchouli.
The vanilla/tonka dry down it's a real head turner and it does last for more than 8 hours. Sillage up to 6 feet is slightly above average, and it projects for two hours or so.

Let's check the math for Rasasi Daarej:
Scent Opening: 9.0 (my judgement; divine cardamom/cumin combo)
Scent Dry Down: 10.0 (my judgement; you pray for the velvety vanilla/tonka heavenly scent never to go away)
Longevity: 8.5 (3 good sprays may last 8+ hours, usualy close to 10 hours)
Sillage: 8.0 (up to 6 feet at its peak with 3 sprays; it projects for 2.0 hours)
Uniqueness: 7.5 (As Valentino V was released before Daarej, I discount 2.5 points. With the discontinuation of V, Daarej has become virtually unique in the market)
Wearability: 8.5 (A three seasons scent for both outdoor or indoor, day or night; just avoid the summer hot days)
Versatility: 8.5 (An "all around" versatile fragrance that will make feel like very well dressed Italian man from Milan)
Compliments: 8.5 (This fragrance is very close to a compliment magnet; it's an above average alluring pleaser)
Quality: 9.0 (Above average quality, quality ingredients, nice flask, nice sprayer)
Presentation: 7.0 (no faults, acceptable flask made of strong glass and a metal cap. Tacky box.)
Price: 9.0 (100 ml non tester for € 20.00)

Overall rating: 8.50/10.00
- between 7 and 8 =above average;
- between 8 and 9 = recomended;
- bigger than 9 = don't miss it;

Advice: This gem is highly recommended. If you are looking for a spicy, semi sweet, versatile and inexpensive perfume, you will find one with Daarej.
With a Lalique made flask, Morillas or Polge as perfumists and the name of Tom Ford, Hermés or YSL in the label, Daarej wouldn't be an inexpensive hidden gem any longer. It would be a well known expensive gem.

I also do recommend this fragrance for 2 reasons more:
1) All people longing for Valentino V don't need to look any further.
2) All the people not knowing Valentino V but possible customers of a fantastic Oriental Spicy fragrance should try and buy Daarej.
In summary, you should just blind buy Rasasi Daarej (for 20 Euros or so) because it is an amazing oriental spicy sweet fragrance independently of being similar to Valentino V or not.

Music: 24KGoldn - "Valentino"

Carlitos01 2 years ago 12
10
Scent
9
Longevity
8
Sillage
9
Bottle

By the conceiving will of Shiva
Jaisukh was strolling along the dusty road.
Rajasthan is a large country with twisty yellow roads going in every direction, through valleys and mountains, jungles and prairies.
Jaisukh was pretty confident with the directions he had choosen. Nevertheless a yellowish colour was starting to make the blue of the sky disappear bit by bit. Within less than one our it would be night.
-"Jaisukh"! an old voice called!
-"Who's there?" asked the young man! -"Stupid road that never seems to end. And I am imagining voices now.The night is approaching and I am still far from...."
-"Jaisukh!" The old voice called again!
-"Show yourself! Is that you, Krishna? Stop playing tricks on me..." screamed Jaisukh thinking that his brother Krishna was trying to scare him. Jaisukh was well known for its respect of spirits and wizardries. Quite often other boys played creepy tricks on him. On the other hand, having Krishna around only meant that his almost one day long journey was probably about to finish.
The grinchy old voice said slowly and mockingly - "Oh come on little brother, you can't seriously believe in stories of rogue gypsy spirits roaming this dusty roads?"
That wasn't Krishna for sure. Jaisukh started trembling, thinking at one hundred different possibilities, all of them fantastic and frightning, with huge mouths and claws, leaving nothing behind but blood stained clothes. - "Sahib... Sahib, what are you?"
-"Stop thinking about ghosts and death... You still have a long way to go... Give me that brown cinnamon, those flowers, leaves and beans, and I will make something meant for you..."
Jaisukh rethought about his fears. Is it Krishna or not? - "I am a big man and I don't believe in ghosts and evil beings. I am leaving now..."
-"Take this golden bottle with you containing the scent of a heavenly creation power. It will keep you strong instead of fearful, while me and the other good willing companions of Shiva will pray and care for your safe journey and labours. Cleanse and soothe yourself with this essence every morning for in it is concealed the needed strength of Shiva for you to build his resting place of Jaipur. Glory to the ‘Shahar Kotwal’ of Jaipur."
So Jaipur was buit upon Jaisukh cinammon sticks, sweet beans, fragrant leaves and flowers, dried fruits and juicy citrus, scented woods and holy incenses, used to blend the shiny oinment coloured of the same yellow of the Rajasthan sooty roads. Jaisuckh was forever to be remembered as the "joy of winning"* over the long winding dusty trails and the jungle deadly creatures of Rajasthan with the lakes, palaces and heavenly essencial oils of Jaipur.

And the creative secret behind this oily perfume becomes like this in numbers:
___ ___ ___ ___ ___ ___ ___ ___
- Scent opening...........10.0 (heavenly pleasant with splendorous citrus, spicy cardamom and flowers)
- Scent Dry Down........10.0 (unforgettable with sweet tonka and cinnamon, balsamic benzoin, hearthy patchouli and woods)
- Longevity....................9.0 (up to 8~9 hours on my skin, with 2 sprays)
- Sillage..........................8.0 (sillage peeking up to 6 feet, projecting for more than 2 hours)
- Versatility....................8.5 (quite versatile, expressing itself better in Spring and Fall, at ease in Winter days and in Summer nights)
- Usability......................8.5 (it's really a "use it almost anywhere" fragrance, but avoid the gym, the seaside or any kind of sweating activities)
- Compliments..............9.0 (This scent pleases both genders. You will smell mysterious, elegant, clean, fresh and maybe sexy for some ladies)
- Uniqueness.................9.0 (just its flankers and some vibes shared with a couple of more recent Amouage perfumes in my humble opinion)
- Quality.........................9.5 (high quality ingredients; beautiful sturdy glass bottle; very good spray)
- Presentation...............8.5 (Beautiful flask inspired by the famous astronomical garden conceived by Maharaja Jaï Singh II)
- Price............................10.0 (€ 29 on sale for a 100 ml non tester flask)
___ ___ ___ ___ ___ ___ ___ ___
- Average:......................9.09/10.00
between 7 and 8 => above average;
between 8 and 9 => recommended;
equal or bigger than 9 => don't miss it;

Opinion on "Jaipur EDP":
One of the most alluring oriental scents available for a very competitive price. A real masterpiece!
Recommended? Absolutely! I have both the EDP and the EDT. Both are recommended.
Blind buy worthy? Yes - Be bold!

Music: Norah Jones - "Don't Know Why"

note* - "Jaisukh" literally means "joy of winning"
2 Replies