Top Rated Reviews - Month

VanAllan 27 days ago 5
9.5
Scent
8
Longevity
7
Sillage
8
Bottle

Feminine warm beauty...
This marvelous (and sadly discontinued) creation is one of my all-time favorite scents for my better half and (happily) still one of her signature scents.
The superb combination of peppery coriander, mellow jasmine, smooth-aromatic peony and the wonderful earthy sweetness of honey is pretty addictive and seductive, nothing harsh or too sweet here, but in addition, everything is packed harmoniusly and wrapped in a woody resinous alluring vale of myrrh, white musk and sweet sandalwood.
Longevity is very good (over 6 hrs,) and the trail left behind tells a beautiful story of an elegant and warm-hearted lady.
1 Reply

HugoMontez 20 days ago 4
10
Scent
8
Longevity
7
Sillage
10
Bottle

I love you, honeybear
There's a trend specially in niche to create a scent that evoques a fake sophistication and pretentiousness. I don't know why but people go crazy over that type of scent.

They usually say that's "niche quality" which I don't agree at all, mainly because there isn't such thing as "niche quality". Niche means availability and price, not quality.
Don't get me wrong, I love many niche fragrances and indie ones, as much as I love designer ones, as long as they smell good, are unique and well blended. But the hype around overrated niche brands these days is enormous.

This Cartier is a true high quality woody fragrance and more unique that many out there (as many other fragrances from this slightly underrated brand are). This one is focused on honey and fresh violet leaves. Not a tipical combination but a successful one. It starts out very fresh and sweet with a big dose of violet leaves and ambrosia (honey). The gaiac wood is melted in the honey accord, giving a slightly creamy and woody tone to the composition. The evolution is smooth and barely exists. The fragrance become more airy, less sweet and with a touch of musk in the drydown but nothing crazy.

Overall, an airy, fresh and sweet woody composition, with an aura of elegance around. Very long lasting (8+ hours), and completely unisex in opinion.

It's unique, interesting, mature yet modern, and a must buy for people who apreciate Woody floral musk compositions or just want to have a great modern masculine fragrance.

5/5
2 Replies

HugoMontez 18 days ago 4
10
Scent
9
Longevity
9
Sillage
7
Bottle

With love, forever.
There are some fragrances that create so much with so little. Super straight forward, they want to replicate some moment/place or just the smell of something.

Goutal is a great classic brand that newer noses don't care and/or don't even know about it. And I don't blame them because today's standards are different from 20 years ago. Youtubers are the main sources for new hyped fragrances and the whole market are centered on fresh and sweet versatile scents and the niche houses are no longer niche brands but just high end designers clones, with higher price tags. Fortunately, there are still some classic niche brands that does things right.

This classic '85 release is a proof that we still can enjoy some different and quality fragrances with a good price and stand out while smelling appealing at the same time.

Created to his husband, Goutal wanted to replicate the smell of sand in Corsica beaches. And to do that, she choose to use immortelle. A big flower, with yellow tones and a strong smell (like burned curry). Very common in dunes and dry sandy places.

Sables has, right at the opening, a strong immortelle presence. Super dry, curry-like, a little bit creamy and sweet. There's also something sticky and sweet in the opening, that will evolve into a more dry, creamy and relaxed sweetness in he drydown. The main player here is, of course, the immortelle but I also can detect some dry and sweet cinnamon and a creamy sandalwood. That's it. Super straight forward composition. But it's so beautiful, powerful and majestic that it works perfectly.

A true piece of art, but still, very wearable and comforting like a warm coat. Winter is the best time to wear it due to his great performance and presence. Although I also can wear it in spring, on a walk on the coast side. 2 sprays will fill a room and will last all day (10h+)

All in all, a beautiful and magic fragrance that is a must-have and deserves more attention. Hopefully, will be available forever for us to enjoy, like the immortelle itself.

5/5

Stolzman 5 days ago 3
10
Scent
8
Longevity
7
Sillage
8
Bottle

Musky and powdery mandarin with violet leather!
This is my second signature scent, right after Burberry Touch for Men.

•Why do I love this scent so much?
It shares some notes with my all time favourite Touch for Men: mandarin, violet leaf, cedar and amber/vanilla in the drydown. It's like a Burberry Touch and Dior Homme lovechild. Gorgeous!

Notes:
•According to the Zara's description: Mandarin, Violet Leaf and Leather
•Notes according to the box sticker: Mandarin, Orris, Jasmine, Cedarwood, Amber.

This is a heavenly scent, it starts with mandarin orange, leather and violet leaf. In the drydown you can smell amber, with an almost vanillic quality with musk and powdery iris and some remains of tangerine/mandarin and soft leather.

I spray it on my clothes to make that leather note linger for longer.

I just can't get enough of this fragrance.

8 sprays total. 1 on my shirt, 1 on my chest, 2 behind my ears, and 2x2 on my outer wrists.
It lasts more than 8 hours which is great, great projection and sillage for 2.5 hours.

It's very elegant and the scent profile has a niche quality to it, I haven't smelled anything this good in a long long time.
Great for every occasion if you wear smart clothes. It wouldn't suit sport/lounge wear. I wear it whenever I wear my suits or blazers with white/blue shirts.

Buy it, you will not regret it. I'm getting at least 2 back up bottles of this outstanding fragrance, maybe more.

I think I found my second favourite perfume!✨

Ptsau 29 days ago 3
8
Scent
8
Longevity
8
Sillage
8
Bottle

Great utility fragrance!!!
I have Molecule 01 and decided to get a bottle of Molecule 02 because I love ambroxan note. I love how both 01 & 02 prolonging my other fragrances effectively when I layer them. They really works! It will gain another 2-3 hours of the fragrances longevity and make better projection. I tried to look up the ingredients to make it myself because people said they’re cheap to make them yourself but I couldn’t find a good perfume alcohol as I want to use better quality alcohol. I also tried to get it from somebody thru Etsy. I bought two Molecule 01 from 2 different sellers, one the atomizer doesn’t work and the other one has very very strong alcohol scent and it stays for a long time. I just gave up and went with the authentic Escentric Molecule Molecule 01 and 02. First, they don’t have a strong alcohol scent (a little but not strong and it fades quickly). Second, the atomizer is so much better quality that provides very fine mist. I already spent about $60 for 2 bottles from the self-made sellers and both didn’t work. I shouldn’t waste that money and get another bottle of the authentic one. Molecule 02 from Escentric Molecules does have stronger initial alcohol scent compared to the EM Molecule 01 but it also fades quickly. They do change your fragrances’ scents a little, which you barely notice and you can smell unique since everyone will get different scents from them because they are all about chemical reactions to your body. I used 01 solely a few times when I exercise so it wouldn’t create the odd scent when fragrances mixed with my sweat. I could smell the very subdued nice body scent emit from my body (not the fragrance kind of scent). I haven’t used 02 solely yet but I will definitely try soon. I consider the Molecule 01 & 02 as functional fragrances more than real perfumes. I will always keep them in my collection.

HugoMontez 19 days ago 3
7
Scent
7
Longevity
6
Sillage
6
Bottle

Vanilla Ice!
Tom Ford usually take some risks, specially on his first releases back in the 00's.

Black Orchid, Tobacco Vanille, Oud Wood and Tuscan Leather were pretty much pioneers and they still stand unique to this day (despite some clones and very "inspired" creations around there).

This one is kinda unique but more mainstream and less daring than the previous i mentioned. It's a vanilla based scent but not strong enough to be a winter killer, more a Netflix and chill, a cuddling scent, around the house or by the fireplace kind of a fragrance.

The main player here is the vanilla, as I said before, but along with that it has an interesting freshness due to some citruses and florals. The citrus here are not strong, not in your face. Just gives a slightly juicy sweet mandarin orange feel with hits of orange blossom. During the heart of this one, the florals became more pronounced but the vanilla is still pretty much on the front. The cardamom helps the vanilla become more tamed and spicy, more interesting and less sweet. A really delicious warm vanilla ice cream. It will not change much during the lifetime on your skin. A warm vanilla fresh and spicy ice cream!

The longevity is average to good (around 8-10h), and the projection is average to low. Again, I prefer it to be like this. Is a feel good scent for cuddling and Netflix. Not your typical vanilla sweet bomb, ambery or medicinal. It's unisex and appealing to everyone. Not masculine and a complement magnet. Just a good smelling scent that will fit indoor enviornments during colder weather.

I recommend it if you like sweet yet fresh vanilla scents with personality. Not groundbreaking or masterpiece territory but still, a great frangrance for indoors in winter time.

3.5/5


Pepdal 27 days ago 3

Cuir Mysterieux
I remember smelling the original "Songe"and was excited to try this new edition, re-named and re-packaged. I hope you enjoy the review of Bois Mysterieux and as always, thank you for watching..........

Rquill67 22 days ago 3
10
Scent
8
Longevity
6
Sillage
10
Bottle

Absolutely Beautiful Flanker!
I never had the original 1 Million by Paco Rabanne and recently picked up Prive (given the hype). I think Prive is “winter in a bottle”. I know Prive is discontinued and it looks like I will need a backup bottle already!

I Million Parfum is an absolute LOVE for me. Another flanker I have in a fragrance line for which I don’t have the original. This fragrance is a very easy 10 / 10; and has great sillage, projection; lasts over 8 hours on my skin. I heard a rumour that one of the noses behind this was travelling home and his sunscreen leaked into his leather bag; which was the inspiration for this 1 Million flanker. It’s just a rumour and who knows if it’s true or not, but definitely partially paints a picture of what you’re going to get with this fragrance. I get the leather and sunscreen vibe, with the addition of florals. If you’re not a guy who likes sweet fragrances or florals I would stay away from this one.

Nothing more I can say that hasn’t already been said by other reviewers. Second to Cartier’s L’Envol, this is my second favourite fragrance purchase of 2020!

INDIGOSPHINX 12 days ago 3
8.5
Scent
9
Longevity
8
Sillage
10
Bottle

I want to do it justice
SO MANY BAD REVIEWS?!

so, i have owned the EDT, EDP, and this PARFUM version of sauvage. And I really want to help you to discern what is true about this fragrance, because so many people, because of olfactory fatigue, bash this fragrance for its lack of performance...

Ok! so let's compare.
IMO, the EDP is the least sweet version of sauvage, while having the BEST performance and having the most prominent ambroxan note. If you owned the EDP, you'll know that when you spray it on your neck and the juice gets on your shirt collar, even after you wash it, you can smell a very prominent, beautiful and metallic medicinal ambroxan.

Parfum, while not having the beast mode of EDP, is still very viable. THE KEY to be able to smell it is to spray it at least half arm length away from yourself to let the midst cover a large area, and only do 1-2 sprays. if you do this on your stomach area, I guarantee you you can smell it strongly for at least 5 hours, afterwards it settles down a bit but never a skin scent. The Parfum really reminds me more of the edt than the edp, but with added sandalwood richness.

The Parfum also won't project more than 3 feet away from you after it settles so it is significantly more office friendly. to tell you a story, when I first smelled sauvage edt it was on someone else, I didn't know what it was I was smelling but my initial thought was the person who was wearing it is an arrogant asshole. It smelled good but I laughed to myself, yeah, that person is exactly an ass of a person. The scent was incredibly aggressive so I don't think people would perceive it positively.

One note DIOR mentioned that I DO NOT perceive at all is the tonka bean. A lot of people say this fragrance is powdery. I don't get that at all. to my nose, after the initial mandarin sourness recedes, all I get is a very pleasant yet strong mixture of sandalwood and ambroxan aroma.

In conclusion:
IMO, Sauvage is the best blue scent DNA, reason being that it has character. My collection mainly consists of old school classic scents like habit rouge edt, eau sauvage edt etc... But you know, once in a while I really miss the linear ambroxan stuff.
Smellwise I truly think the EDP is the best because I perceive the ambroxan the most in that composition. However, I don't think it is as wearable due to its monstrous performance.

PARFUM for the win!
1 Reply

MrLawman 2 days ago 3
9
Scent
10
Longevity
9
Sillage
8
Bottle

Luxurious
Top note: Cardamom -- middle notes: leather, jasmine, sambac -- base notes: amber, moss and patchouli

I suppose everything has been said about this perfume already, so all I want to add is that I believe Tom Ford has absolutely hit the sweet spot between mainstream and niche, both scent wise and price wise.

Ombré Leather distinguishes itself from other leather fragrances by its smoothness and blend quality. A touch of spice but not as much as Guerlain Bois Mysterieux. Enough leather but not an animalic one like Tuscan Leather.

Smells like luxury to me, exciting, dark, strong and masculine. Love it.